Why I stopped blogging for free

blogger bill of rights 2 blue

Monetizing my blog was a big decision to make and not an easy one. It has certainly been on my mind for a while because I wanted to stay completely transparent with all of you, as well as foster a friendly discussion about it in the comments below this post. I really want to hear your thoughts and will make every effort to answer each one!

It also seemed like it may be helpful to raise the topic for other bloggers who are thinking about monetizing but are not sure if it’s the right thing to do. When a part-time blogging hobby turns into a full-time, occasionally stressful but meaningful position, it may be time to weigh the options. That time came for me.

It’s one thing to walk into an office and answer to a boss every day and get paid for it, and another to be a self-employed entrepreneur and begin your own enterprise without an established portfolio.

When it comes to less tangible ways of providing a service, like offering an endorsement versus selling an actual product, the lines blur as to when it’s appropriate to request remuneration. It is also not easy to shift gears and ask for money when many bloggers do much of the work for free or in exchange for products.

Giving and being of service come naturally to me. What I’m learning in this growth process is that it is not only a good idea to stay open to receiving in return—it is a universal requirement if you want to maintain a balanced state of being.

While that may seem obvious, I was raised with a strong ethic of doing service, volunteerism, and requiring minimal or no financial compensation. Volunteering still has its place, of course, but so does working hard and getting paid for it.

Because there is a lot to say about this topic, I’ve divided up my posts into two: my personal reasons for accepting payment in today’s post and concluding with tomorrow’s post about ways to monetize, concerns when a blog does receive compensation for posts, and what changes you’ll be seeing on Edible Facial.

The sign I got that it was time to monetize my blog

The major shift happened after I was discussing my energetic exhaustion with a friend. I spend hours on writing and editing posts, taking photos, and sharing on social media. Aside from taking up time, other resources like money pour into purchasing products and props for pictures.

At some point, I started to feel drained and couldn’t figure out why, especially when I feel grateful for the positive feedback and online exchanges. What I do also satiates my altruistic desire to expand the ethical beauty movement by supporting earth-friendly niche brands.

My friend pointed out that I was doing all of this work for free, but my body was informing me that I needed to receive something tangible in return to balance out the energy.

Hmm…I had never thought about it like that before.

What’s funny is that I’ve been promoting brands on my blog and on social media without earning a penny for it for years. The words of my highly intuitive friend made an impact, and I finally found myself asking: why not? If my reviews or photos help the company make a sale, isn’t it ok for me to earn a small amount on it too? In all fairness, I couldn’t think of a good reason why not, but I’ve been taking a lot of time to reflect on it.

The concept of receiving and self worthiness

Essentially, asking to get paid is about acknowledging self-worth and trusting that what I’m offering has meaning and value.

For lots of people, I think the discussion goes even deeper to feeling “deserving” of receiving and allowing the goodness to flow in both directions.

Creating balance is something that I’ve been working on in my own life. It can be a struggle for many people who are generous with their time and presence while benefiting causes or even family members, but feel guilty or wrong about accepting anything in return.

This is a bigger issue than you would think and one that I’ve started to notice in people who sacrifice themselves in the name of giving to others. It’s also why the topic of “self-care” keeps coming up in posts, in coaching calls, and in conversations.

It’s important to become aware of any feelings of not deserving or unworthiness and gain an understanding of them, then seek to release and let go of any blocks. Donating our time and resources is a beautiful endeavor, but not when it comes at our own expense. The price to pay could be poor health, weakened energy levels, resentment, low self-esteem (feeling like a doormat or a puppet), and more.

This is a vital area of exploration and healing for many people—and a bit much to tackle here, but one that’s already in the works for a future post. While my own feelings didn’t sink quite so low, I did come to the realization that it was time to replenish the low energy output by asking to get paid.

That doesn’t mean that everything changes on my blog or that all posts will be sponsored, however I’ll be including those too.

In Part II, I continue this topic and cover issues like objectivity and bias.

Has the question of monetizing your blog been on your mind too? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it in the comments and any other questions you may have.

 

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Why I stopped blogging for free

    1. Thank you so much, Jeannie. I think interviewing you about your approach to sharing your company would be beneficial to everyone! I’d love to put that out there as an intention for 2016 too. Thank you for all that YOU do from the heart. Hero on! XO

      Like

  1. Sarita, I make my feelings about your artwork (that may not be the correct term but lets face its, its good enough that it could be) very clear, you are amazing and not only that, very knowledgeable and thorough with your reviews. I think it’s more than fair for you to receive something in return. My only concern when these shifts happen are that people’s opinions are not swayed in any way . From the little I know of you this does not seem your style so I doubt very much, we – your readers, will notice anything different but thank you for the openness. Wishing you all the best x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for that beautiful compliment, Lisa. You are right. I’ll be addressing that concern tomorrow for sure. As it stands, I’m very grounded in the importance of being in integrity with my readers, the brands, as well as with myself, hence one of the reasons to talk about this decision openly. Your faith in me is of the utmost importance and not one that I’d compromise in exchange for a financial reward. Thank you again. XO

      Like

  2. This! Exactly this!!! My husband tells me all the time that for the amount of time, effort and work I put into my blog (while dealing with health issues), I really need to find ways to make something in return! I look forward to learning more and I may need to ask your advice on some things about this too if that is ok? 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This! Exactly this is the reason for me to post openly about my journey because I welcome and invite those questions. I can only speak to my process and progress but of course can’t guarantee any success, not even my own. Fortunately, I don’t limit success to a number! Feel free to reach out any time, Sabrina. And kudos to you for working on your blog even through health issues. We both know how much goes into one post! XOXO

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am not a blogger but love reading all your insightful , informative and educational posts. People who teach others usually get paid. I think it is nice to do things occasionally for free but with all your hard work and effort teaching people you most definitely deserve to be paid:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good for you, Sarita! There’s nothing wrong with earning money from doing something you love. I keep my core values at the heart of what I do, and it guides how I run my blog. And for me, it’s about helping readers. Not brands. Sure, it’s a lovely side benefit when a brand is also helped by something I’ve written / shot / tweeted, but my focus is on the reader. How can I help him or her? When I’ve served my audience, then I likely also serve a brand and myself. Everyone wins. Looking forward to reading more. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s why I’ve LOVED your blog for so long. It is so clear that self-interest takes a back-burner to churning out honest material, which is key. Your word choice also struck me. “Core values” is exactly what I’m addressing in the next post and am excited to discuss them with everyone.

      Like

  5. If your interest and passion inspires you to pour heart and energy into it as it does and you provide a valuable and valued service, as it does, of course you should be remunerated. There’s no doubt you are deserving. Sometimes when we start out on a new road, we have to blaze a trail through the jungle. So you made the investment, built the roads, put in the utilities, ordered the raw materials, created the product and shipped it out to appreciative customers. You’ve filled a need and what a beautiful job! Now it may be time to cut the ribbon and open the business. And because you’ve blazed the trail, you’ve created something that never existed before but is absolutely needed if we are to wisely navigate the natural beauty landscape safely. With the old guard getting into the game, the small shops becoming big names, and newcomers entering the fray daily we need someone who is excellent at keeping them honest to their marketing content. Thank goodness it’s you! Now the creative part comes….how do you turn your passion into a livelihood that supports the work? It turns out that you’ve served an entire industry as well as its audience. I’m confident you’ll discover a way to enlist those who stand to benefit without compromising your ethical roots. Guidance can lead you to the destiny that awaits. Thanks to you our world is a safer, healthier, happier AND more beautiful place. Time to leave the safe shore of the familiar and step into the flow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your support, Ajnira. I hope that soon my blog will not be pegged as an exclusively green beauty blog, since my desire is to expand beyond that, but I’m thrilled that it has been a helpful endeavor thus far. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have thought for some time about trying to turn my blog into making money. I spend so much time on it..so I’m really looking forward to reading your next post and beyond to find out your story. Thanks for sharing.

    Gavin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great to hear, Gavin. I hope that through sharing my own journey you are able to apply it practically to your blogging experience. If you’re working hard, you definitely deserve to get paid for it. It’s a question of how it is done and what the ultimate intention is behind it. 🙂

      Like

  7. Absolutely the correct decision!! All things in life are about the correct balance (I find that even the best natural products have the correct balance!). Whenever there is an imbalance, we know it, whether consciously or as in your case unconsciously, but there was no fooling your body!! In the end, it’s between you and the universe, and the universe knows your intent is pure, and that’s all that matters. Monetizing your site simply creates balance in the physical!! Good for you! 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is so well written Sarita! Thank you for being so open and transparent. I agree, I grew up with the same mindset. To serve, especially being one of five kids. I’ve had to think about this myself, as I have a small child and putting my heart into anything I do requires a lot of me. As my husband always tells me, and as one of my core values, staying true to yourself is best when it comes to change. I think being authentic and real is something that is so lacking in today’s culture. But I see it in you and all your posts! I admire you and your passion, but also the way in which you do it. Thank you for all you do!

    Like

  9. It sounds like you see all sides of this issue and that is wonderful for everyone involved. I look forward to reading your follow up post. I have been at my blog for a little over a year, but I don’t bother with social media at all, nor do I promote my glog, really. I think it is just a creative catharsis for me at this point, and wanting to leave information for others. I have pretty low readership numbers, but I’m fine with that because this is still just a hobby. However, you never know what the future holds. Congrats and good luck with 2016 and beyond!

    Like

    1. Now you have one more follower, Brianna (me!). Thanks for sharing. I started my blog for a creative catharsis too. Who knows where it leads, but it has turned into so much more than that, including new friendships, learning new creative skills, self-discovery, etc. Writing is an amazing vehicle. Hope you keep it up and enjoy. Happy 2016! XO

      Like

  10. I totally agree with you Sarita! I think blogging can be so time-consuming and exhausting, but it’s difficult when you love something and you love helping others, sharing with others, and connecting with them in an authentic way. All of these things are so important to me, as well, when writing so I definitely relate to that. For me, I feel compensation is a recognition of my value as a blogger, writer, influencer, and I also think there’s a level of respect and appreciation from those who are willing to compensate me for my hard work than the ones who don’t think it’s worth it, but expect me to work hard for them. I truly think it’s a give and take relationship and, as you said, it fosters more balance in the universe, more blessings, gratitude, and I think as long as you stay true to yourself, your goals, and your inner heart and integrity, there’s nothing wrong with being paid to do what you love. isn’t that what everyone wants?

    Like

  11. I think it’s wonderful and you deserve to receive something in return for your gorgeous posts and ensightful reviews. Thank you for sharing your story it helps for newbies like me. I just started my blog out of passion for green beauty and hopes for making our products safe. I do find myself worrying that I haven’t posted something this week or the last two weeks. I have to remind myself I started blogging to explore a different side from my professional life. I can only imagine how much time, energy, research and money goes into your posts and so happy for you. Please continue to share your honesty and expertise.

    Like

  12. Absolutely the right thing to do. Anyone who reads your blog can see the time, effort, energy and professionalism you put into it. Why not get something back. There has to be balance in life to be happy, be healthy and to continue with the great energy and heart you have. Universal law of giving is that to be in balance you take also. Don’t feel awkward about taking, you deserve to reap rewards for all the giving you have done.

    Like

  13. You have very good reasons to monetize, & you’re also doing it with integrity, Sarita. You work so hard on your blog and take all your own photos. I link photos back to stores & use my own photos too, but I thought I’d save myself copyright worries by not making any financial gain off my site. I took off all ads. It defined the blog as purely a hobby, which works for me. I gain intrinsic value from it.

    Like

  14. “it is not only a good idea to stay open to receiving in return—it is a universal requirement if you want to maintain a balanced state of being” – this one’s absolutely true.

    Generally speaking, I have no probs whatsoever with bloggers who deliver quality (otherwise I wouldn’t be reading, right) being paid for their work.

    I also think that you often if not always are able to spot sponsored material even when it’s concealed as “my honest opinion”, which only makes it worse.

    Now that’s just the set-up 🙂 Here’s the meat.
    Having worked in press and seeing the struggle this industry has been facing lately, also seeing the beginning of the very same struggle happening on leading fashion blogs today, I wonder what is the best solution? Would the reader rather pay for a paywall but see no ads? Would the reader rather see ads but not pay? Or does the 2015/2016 reader want her information to be free anyway? How does the reader find the best available content? Does the top content or just the content found really live up to journalistic standards? What is my position as a reader? As a content creator? …

    I have no answer (yet). But of course I’m wondering where 2016 will take my blog as well – sure, being ad-free and indie is the core idea behind BC, but as you mentioned above, there’s got to be balance in giving and receiving. I’m also rethinking my content to make it more valuable for my readers.

    Like

  15. I think by the overwhelming response here that there’s nothing wrong and absolutely everything right with your decision to not want to blog for free any more.

    I know first hand the time that goes into producing high quality content, from idea generation, to original photography, writing and any work you do in programs like Photoshop, and you can run the very real risk of burnout -or worse losing the passion for why you’re doing it in the first place.

    I’m currently struggling with how to manage my day job, my side business, my blog and life in general – what do I focus on today? What has to take the back burner this week? In the end the projects that net me a higher capital gain have been winning out which I don’t think will be surprising to anyone.

    Nath brought up an interesting notion about whether online consumers are willing to pay for the content they enjoy….or are they happy to put up with the ads to maintain the free subscription many of us have become accustomed to. What’s the value trade? Will this industry move towards a Spotify type business model? I’m not sure of the answer either, but with the very high calibre of content you produce Sarita, in addition to being a very well respected voice of authority in this industry, that you should feel comfortable charging for your time and for your opinions. It’s no different than a consultant or freelancer charging for their expertise.

    Looking forward to what Edible Facial has in store for all of us in 2016!

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Hi Sarita!

    I think you made the right choice to charge considering all that you do. Lawyers and consultants of all types charge for sharing their knowledge and for helping putting forth a plan, so you should too. I really appreciated reading about your reasoning and how you came to terms with this needed transition because I too am going through the same thing. I don’t blog but I do food security work that I do not charge for for the same reasons you didn’t: I feel guilty, and I feel that it’s an important deed: contribution to the greater good… And for me, I rather have someone’s money go towards buying agricultural input rather than paying me who “gets to eat all day long if I wanted too”. Anyways, your article was very helpful in allowing me to see remuneration and self worth differently. Thank you:)

    Like

  17. I must admit that even though its been only a year since have just started blogging I am finding myself feeling overwhelmed. I am a mom of 2 with a very high strung busy husband as a demanding self made business man. He doesn’t understand why I feel the need to spend so much of my time on blogging about beauty since I’m not generating anything. I had to tell him it’s too early to make a decision on whether I should ask to be paid for my work. I don’t know how you handle 5 kids and still manage to do such an amazing job.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments keep things interesting. Let's chat!